Minutes of the 17th PLACE Annual General Meeting, held at 12 noon on Saturday 14th May 2022 at the Heritage Quay, Schwann Building, University of Huddersfield

MINUTES

1. Present: <u>In person</u>: George Sheeran (Chair), Margaret Atherden, Ruth Davies, Clive Dawson, Kathleen Katy Hockridge, Doreen Leach, Richard Leggott, Philip Mander, Dorothy Pope, Colin Speakman, Fleur Speakman, Nancy Stedman, David Wharton-Street.

<u>Via zoom</u>: Aileen Bloomer, Penelope Coates, Anne Curtis, Laura Eddey, Keith Adkins and Jane Hanstock, Sally Lewis, Denny Mallows, Richard Mallows, Richard Myerscough, Ken Smith, Lois Yellowthunder.

Apologies for absence: Peter Addyman, Joe Bailey, John and Jean Broadbent, Peter Calvert, Maureen Davies, Sonia Donaghy, Chris Ford, Sue Ford, Ken Gill, Anthony Hammersley, Margaret Hammersley, Barbara Hickman, Claire Hill, Michael Hopkinson, Andrew Jones ,Adrian Koster, Faith Lesley, George Malcolm, Roger Martlew, Laura Potts, Chris Robinson, Linda Robinson, Michael Sanders, Vic Smith, Gail Thornley, Paul Thornley, Sylvia Voisk, Brian Walker, Veronica Wallace, Eileen White, Elaine Wisdom, Ruth Wood.

2. Minutes of the 16th meeting held via zoom on 15th May 2021: accepted as a true record.

3. Matters arising from the minutes: none.

4. Presentation of the Annual Report and accounts for 2021: these had been circulated in advance and were introduced by George Sheeran. PLACE had had a successful year, despite the pandemic, and had held a range of both outdoor in-person events and online events via zoom. A report from the Treasurer, Michael Hopkinson, had been circulated in advance.

5. Adoption of the Annual Reports and Accounts for 2021: adopted unanimously.

6. Appointment of Accountant for 2022-23: Sue Campagna was re-appointed unanimously.

7. Election of Trustees: The following trustees retired by rotation and did not seek re-election: David Hawtin, Michael Hopkinson.

The following co-opted trustees stepped down and sought election to the Board: Laura Jane Eddey: proposed by Philip Mander, seconded by George Sheeran and elected unanimously. Richard Myerscough: proposed by Michael Hopkinson, seconded by Colin Speakman and elected unanimously. Nancy Stedman: proposed by Philip Mander, seconded by Laura Eddey and elected unanimously.

8. Thanks to trustees stepping down: George Sheeran thanked both retiring trustees for their active and valuable support. He noted that David Hawtin had been instrumental in restructuring PLACE activities and fostering links with partner organisations. Michael Hopkinson had been Treasurer since the start of PLACE and had helped with the transition to a Charitable Incorporated Organisation. It was noted that both men would continue as members of the Advisory Committee and would remain as active members of PLACE.

9. Discussion: Jean Dixon commented on the success of the short courses on zoom and hoped that more would be organised in the future. Ruth Davies noted the comments in the Treasurer's report on the need to address the age profile of PLACE members and asked what steps were being taken to address it. George Sheeran confirmed that this would be one of the Board's strategic priorities in the coming year. Katy Hockridge noted the difficulties in attracting younger members when there were so many competing activities. Nancy Stedman commented that members of the Advisory Committee were discussing ideas for the future.

10. Any other business: none.

11. Date and venue of next AGM: there was a general feeling that mid-May was not the best time of year to hold the AGM. Moving the date back to March or April was a popular suggestion. It was agreed that the Board would discuss possible dates and formats for the 2023 AGM and announce the date in due course.

The Chairman closed the meeting at 12.30pm and thanked everyone for their attendance.